You’ve recently taken a pregnancy test with a positive result and you don’t exactly feel ready to be a parent. Don’t worry, you’re not alone! In fact, millions of women every year walk the path of an unexpected pregnancy.
Thankfully, you have options and resources available to you so that you can make the choice that’s right for you!
If you’re considering abortion in the state of Georgia, it’s important to take time to learn about the laws and restrictions in place when it comes to your abortion options.
Here are Georgia’s top abortion laws to understand before you make a pregnancy decision:
1. First, you must receive counseling on all of your options, including abortion, then wait 24 hours until you receive the procedure.
When facing an unplanned pregnancy, you have three options: parenting, abortion, and adoption. Georgia’s mandatory options counseling allows women to intentionally explore each of the options available to them.
With a 24-hour wait time, women are provided a chance to reflect on the information provided to them, so that whatever they choose, they feel empowered and confident in their decision.
2. Public funding in Georgia will only cover abortion under specific circumstances.
Due to the Hyde Amendment, states are restricted from using federal funds to pay for abortions, except in the cases of life endangerment, rape, or incest.
This means that insurance policies for state employees and coverage under Georgia Medicaid will only provide abortion coverage under the above circumstances.
If your personal insurance plan doesn’t cover abortion, you will likely need to pay for the procedure out of pocket. The cost of an abortion varies depending on your stage of pregnancy, with the average costs being $508 for first-trimester abortions, $1,195 for second-trimester abortions, and $3,000 or more for late-term abortions.
Confirm your pregnancy and get more information on what type of abortion you are eligible for by scheduling a free ultrasound scan today!
3. Minors must notify their parents prior to the abortion procedure.
While telling your parents you’re pregnant may be your worst nightmare, this abortion law exists to protect you in the case of any abortion complications.
Abortion, whether medical or surgical, is a serious procedure and can be accompanied by intense side-effects and severe health risks.
To learn more about the risks related to abortion, chat with one of our qualified healthcare professionals regarding your specific pregnancy and the risks you may face.
4. Aside from unique circumstances, women can only access abortion up to 20 weeks post-fertilization
In short, this law restricts abortions past 20 weeks (or 22 weeks after the last menstrual period), aside from cases of life endangerment and fetal anomalies.
If you’re unsure of whether or not you’re eligible for an abortion in the state of Georgia, schedule an appointment at Options Medical Clinic today.
Not only will you receive pregnancy testing and an ultrasound at no cost to you, but you’ll also have access to free options counseling and a professional medical consultation to help you explore your options and the many resources available to you.